Becoming Annabelle’s Mum

I am sure it is something most new mums or ex-career women can relate to. Before, I used to wear a jacket to work, sometimes a suit, always makeup and heels. I used to pass out my business card at meetings and discuss ‘strategy’ and ‘budget’, I used to go to early morning networking events and evening drinks. Then I had a baby.

Taking Selfies...

Taking Selfies…

Now I wave goodbye to my husband with a baby on my hip, dirty hair scraped back and normally a touch of vomit on my shoulder. Getting a shower is now the norm, but I don’t always bother with the slap and I usually just throw my hair up in a ponytail. Strategy normally relates to sleep and budget would only be discussed when talking about cots or car seats. How things have changed.

I used to introduce myself as Amy H, sometimes depending on the situation I might have to say “Matt’s wife”. Now, more often than not I will say “Hi, I’m Amy and this here is Annabelle”; I’m Annabelle’s mum! Not Amy or even Mrs H!

I don’t really mind. I enjoy it for the most part. I am lucky that I get to spend time with Annabelle, I am grateful to have friends to meet with and to talk about feeding strategy and pram budgets.  And one day in the future I hope to don my sleek black dress, suit jacket and heels again, hand over my business card and say “Hi, I’m Amy H” but until then I’ll wear my sick medals with pride.

Getting covered in food.

Getting covered in food.

One thought on “Becoming Annabelle’s Mum

  1. Very nice blog !
    I got the link from Heena who does the Baby and Me session at Mcubed library (with regards to the First Aid course).
    Yes I do recognise myself here and I must not be the only one… So thanks for sharing these little things from everyday life, that makes me feel I am not the only one !
    See you soon at Mcubed.
    Fatema

Leave a Reply

