Phases, Phases, Phases

Every time Annabelle is a touch grizzly I say “I think she’s teething, I think she’s having a growth spurt, it’s just a phase!”. I have learned that everything to do with babies is a phase. They have a sleepy phase, an alert phase, a grumpy phase, a drooling phase, a noisy phase. My goodness if they’re not doing today what they did yesterday then it’s a phase, or if they aren’t doing what we want them to do, it’s a phase!

Annabelle has been going through a rather noisy/grizzly phase of late. She has just discovered a rather high-pitched part of her voice and she likes to use it (normally during meetings or when I’m on the phone!). She also seems to be getting bored with nearly everything; being on her tummy, being on her back, being in her bumbo (which I can’t put her in anymore anyway, since her wee fat thighs get stuck!) She likes her bouncer and she’s enjoying learning to sit. But if we’re not entertaining her one way or another she’s squealing with disgust! I keep saying it’s a phase, or maybe she’s teething, a little while back I wondering if maybe she’s ready for solids, as she does seem to get grouchy about 30mins before her usual feeding time.

 

Trying Annabelle on Solids

Trying Annabelle on Solids

Generally Missing her Mouth

Generally Missing her Mouth

Either way, I think we should try and cut babies some slack. We watch their every move and expect one day to be identical to the next. Even as adults we’ll sleep well one night and not the next, we’ll be hungrier one day and not the next. Every day we feel slightly different, happy, tired, frustrated or excited… Surely babies are the same?

Still, I will continue to blame teething for her grizzles until I can find a new phase to blame it on.

One thought on “Phases, Phases, Phases

Leave a comment